Welcome to Millwoods Acupuncture Centre

Millwoods Acupuncture Center
102, 2603 Hewes Way
Edmonton AB,   Canada

Phone: (780) 466-8683




Yi Li Zhen Chuan

原著       ·  郑钦安

Author; Zhen Qin-An (Qing dynasty, China)



The meaning of the Three Jiao[1]


Upper Jiao governs the Heart Qi and the Lung Qi. The board to the Middle Jiao is the diaphragm. The Middle Jao governs the Spleen and the Stomach. It separates from the Lower Jiao from the level of the navel. The space from the navel down to the feet belongs to the Lower Jiao. The Lower Jiao governs the Liver Qi and the Kidney Qi.


Upper Jao is the sky (e.g. the Upper Yuan), Middle Jiao is the land, the earth (e.g. the Middle Yuan) and the Lower Jiao is the water (e.g. the Lower Yuan).


The upper sky Qi moves down to the earth, to the land and into the water; the water Qi floats up to the land, the earth, then to the sky. So, it is said: the land, the earth, or the soil, is the control to adjust the Yin floating and the Yang going down.


The Three Jiao Qi can be separated into three parts, but can also be regarded as one Qi, since it transforms from one into another as circle. The Three Jiao Qi is the most important part of the body. If the Qi in one part moves not smoothly, the other Qi will not move smoothly either. This is the truth for the Qi movement in the body. Readers need to study and understand the mechanism of the Qi movement among the Three Jiao, the influence of herbs on the movement, so to be able to master the way to adjust the Yin and Yang in the body.

[1] Jiao means cavity, space in the body. There are three major such spaces, so it is called Three Jiao.